💡 At a glance
In sproof Sign you can set various intervals (30, 60, 90, 120, 150, 180 or 365 days), and define deletion rules based on the status of a document.
Note: As a Plan Admin you can, in addition to the deletion policy for your documents, manage the deletion policy for the entire plan.
→ An explanation can be found in the module Deletion Policy (Entire Plan).
📑 Step-by-step guide
1. My settings
Note: These settings are available to a plan member only if the Plan Admin has enabled the setting “User has free choice.”
These settings apply to your own account and therefore to the documents you uploaded yourself.
Under Settings > Deletion Policy > My settings you can set various intervals (30, 60, 90, 120, 150, 180 or 365 days), and define deletion rules based on the status of a document.
The following document statuses are distinguished:
-
Completed documents: Documents that have been fully signed or processed.
-
Incomplete documents: Documents that are still waiting for signatures or further processing.
-
Drafts: Documents that are still being edited and have not yet been sent.
By default, automatic deletion is disabled. Alternatively, you can specify that users may configure this option themselves.
The timer for a document starts when it is uploaded. With every update to the document, for example by a signature, the counter is reset and starts again at zero.
You will receive an email with a list of all documents that will be deleted within the next 10 days. After this 10-day period, the documents will be permanently deleted.
Example of the deletion logic: Suppose you have set automatic deletion to 30 days.
-
You upload a document. The timer starts at zero. After 10 days you invite two recipients to sign the document.
-
Inviting the recipients updates the document. The counter is reset and starts again at zero.
-
The first recipient signs on the same day, but the second recipient only signs on day 29. In the meantime, the administrator receives an email on day 20 about the scheduled deletion in 10 days.
-
When the second recipient signs, the document is updated again and the counter is reset to zero.
-
You now have another 30 days to continue working on the document. If you leave it unchanged after that, it will be marked for deletion after 20 days and the administrator will receive another email. After another 10 days it will be permanently deleted.
Note: The affected documents will also be removed from the sproof Sign dashboard of external parties with whom you previously shared the documents.
You can download your documents at any time, including the verifiable PDF signatures, and archive them in an external storage.
2. Manual deletion of documents
Of course, it is also possible to delete documents manually, where you can distinguish whether you want to delete the documents only for yourself or also for external people with whom you shared the document. To do so, click the three dots on a list entry (document) in your dashboard.